RSS

Mini Mango Crisp Recipe

23 Mar
Example of Mangoes, shoot in Taipei, Taiwan. T...

Image via Wikipedia

by jeg

So, this blog is turning a bit food-based.  Hmm.  OK by me!  Since I’ve resolved to cook more for myself, the blog is motivation to actually do it.  And documenting it with my new toy has become borderline obsessive.  So, after my delicious “soup” lunch yesterday, I was in the cooking mood and decided to make something yummy for dessert.  I had some mangoes and decided I would finally make the individual mango crisp I’ve been planning to make for probably 8 months.  You see, last summer, after I bought my house and was replacing things that had been my old roommate’s stocking up on a few kitchen essentials, I saw these adorable little individual ramekins and decided I must have a couple.  You know, so I could make my own personal mango crisp, whenever I wanted one.  I have a tendency to make impulsive purchases like that.  Don’t worry, sometimes I return them.  Anyway, I put the ramekins on the shelf and sort of forgot about that idea.  Until yesterday.  I eyed that mango and thoughtindividual mango crisp. I frequently like to make the full size version of this dessert, but if I’m not serving it to enough people, it can turn into over-indulgence on my part.

See that little guy, hiding back there, begging to be used?

Individual Mango Crisp
1 mango (or enough frozen mango to fill your individual ramekin)
sugar to coat mango
2T butter, softened
2T flour
1T old-fashioned rolled oats
1.5T sugar
vanilla ice cream, if desired

Cut up mango into small chunks until miniature ramekin is full.  Toss the mango with about a spoonful of sugar, enough to coat the fruit. (Because mango’s just not quite sweet enough already – ha!)

Mix together the butter, flour, oats, and sugar.  This is the crumble topping.  Drop it in chunks and do your best to spread it around on top of the mango.  Since the dish was rather small, I put it on my toaster oven pan to make it easier to get in and out of the oven.  Bake at 375 for 30-40 minutes or until crisp topping starts to brown.

pre-baking

Let it cool for a minute after you take it out of the oven.  Put your little ramekin on a plate, add a scoop of vanilla ice cream and enjoy!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 23, 2011 in Baking, Fruit, Ice Cream, Sweets

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
