RSS

Pollo ala Crema Recipe

23 Mar
Photo by Gerik

A person would think that being retired meant that a person had all the time in the world to plan and make meals. If this premise is true, why am I always struggling to get dinner on the table in a timely fashion? Seems the only night I have it figured out is Monday Night at Mom’s.

So today I began thinking of things I could do in a pinch and this is one of the entrees that came to mind. Not that I want to make the whole recipe in advance, freeze it and then thaw at the appropriate time but why can’t I just make the sauce and freeze the sauce in 2 or 4 person servings size. Adding the rest of fresh cooked vegetable ingredients to the cream sauce would really enhance it.

I’m actually excited that this might work and I have two such meals that would work just fine for this. Several months ago I wrote about my Chicken Marsala recipe which is an excellent choice. Pollo ala Crema is my other choice.

I came across Pollo ala Crema at a new Mexican restaurant that opened in Lincoln several years ago. I started with checking out the recipes online and then trial and error finally produced an acceptable product that was comparable to my favorite restaurant’s recipe. The ancho chili flavored cream sauce is heavenly and when the rest of the ingredients are added just before serving, it is elevated to a really classy entree worthy of serving guests.

For me it is something to look forward to on busy days when I can’t think of something for dinner. All that needs to be done is to poach some chicken breasts (rotisserie chicken also works well here), saute the mushrooms and onions, quick thaw the sauce and gently heat. Served with some rice and a salad, my Pollo ala Crema dinner is finished.

Pollo ala Crema
12 servings

Sauce:
4 c. water
3 tsp. dry beef seasoning (regular or vegetarian)
8 oz tomato paste
3 tsp. fresh minced garlic
1 tsp. ancho chili powder
1 tsp. cumin
½ tsp. cocoa
1 ½ tsp. vinegar
¾ tsp. tabasco sauce

1 ½ c. whipping cream
salt and pepper to taste

Chicken and Vegetable Ingredients:
2 T. olive oil and butter
1 lb. sliced baby portabellas
1 onion, slivered

2 cups poached or purchased rotisserie chicken
OR
2 pkgs. “chicken” Morngingstar Farms Meal Starters sauteed with
2 tsp. dry vegetable or chicken-like seasoning

Bring first 9 sauce ingredients to a boil then turn down heat. Add whipping cream. Season with salt and pepper. Pour over chicken and sauteed vegetable ingredients and mix. Serve with your favorite rice.

source: http://dancinginthekitchen.wordpress.com/2011/03/13/pollo-ala-crema/

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2011 in Chicken

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Pollo ala Crema Recipe

  1. mxxs

    March 23, 2011 at 8:07 am

    Thanks for linking my blog :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

